top of page


Meet CU International Film Festival's distinguished jurors

Neil Berkeley

Neil Berkeley is an Emmy-nominated and award-winning filmmaker. Berkeley’s third feature film, Gilbert–which chronicles the life and career of comedian Gilbert Gottfried–had its world premiere at the Tribeca Film Festival.


C.L. Cole

C.L. Cole is the Department Head of Media & Cinema Studies at the University of Illinois. Cole holds two interdisciplinary doctoral degrees that are grounded in media studies, communications, cultural studies, gender studies, and visual and interpretive methods. 

Sammer Jones

Sammer Saleh Jones is the Director for Global Relations at the University of Illinois where she develops and fosters international relations through engagement at the institutional, national, and international level.


Richard Roeper

Richard Roeper is a nationally-renowned film critic and columnist for the Chicago Sun-Times. He co-hosted the television series At the Movies with Roger Ebert, and Roeper has written over 2,500 movie reviews.

Crickett Rumley

Crickett Rumley is the founder and senior director of the New York Film Academy’s Film Festival Department, and she is based in Los Angeles. Rumley has served as a juror for a number of festivals, including Tallgrass Film Festival.


Ty Strickler 

Ty Stricker is a writer and director at Creative Artists Agency (CAA) in Los Angeles. Previously, Strickler served as Assistant Director, School of Cinematic Arts, at the University of Southern California.

bottom of page